In good company 

Jag har börjat förstå att jag de senaste åren spenderade väldigt mycket tid ensam. På dagarna jobbade jag, ensam hemifrån. Efter förskolan hängde vi med kompisar, barnen och jag och det var fullt ös. Men sen, när barnen somnat – då var jag oftast ensam. I nästan ett år pendlande mannen mellan Warszawa och Stockholm och var bara hemma på helgerna. Året efter det, när vi alla var i Warszawa hade mannen en galen arbetssituation med långa kvällar, resor, events.. Minns att jag kände mig väldigt låst men inte speciellt ensam. 

Och så flyttar vi till Barcelona och mannen har äntligen något som kan anses som en någorlunda arbetssituation, många härliga vänner som kommer på besök, nya roliga vänner och vips så är jag alltid i gott sällskap. Och jag inser att jag nog var ganska ensam ändå, och väldigt glad att jag inte är det längre. 

   

  

  

 

I’m starting to realize that I’ve spent so much time alone the last couple of years. During the day I was working, from my home office – alone. The afternoons were busy with the kids and me seeing friends but then again after the girls’ bedtime I was most often alone again. The husband spent almost a year commuting between Warsaw and Stockholm and was only home on the weekends. The year after, when we were all together in Warsaw the husband had a crazy work schedule with very long days, plenty of business trips, events… I remember feeling blocked, but not lonely. 

And then the move to Barcelona happened. The husband finally has something close to normal working hours for his kind of position, the house is full of friends coming to visit and daytime I’m lucky enough to spend time with new friends. And I realize I must have been quite lonely after all, and very happy that I’m not anymore. 

Leave a Reply

